SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1732

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2020 and 2022 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Fourteen of Kansas' best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2020 and 2022; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2020 and 2022 winners; and

WHEREAS, The 2020 Kansas Master Teachers are Hillary Barscewski, a first grade teacher at Cottonwood Elementary School in Andover, USD 385; Holly Bright, a kindergarten teacher at Grandview Elementary School in El Dorado, USD 490; Justin Heeke, a seventh grade physical education teacher at Comanche Middle School in Dodge City, USD 443; Erica Huggard, a biology and health science teacher at Emporia High School in Emporia, USD 253; Eunice Izazaga, a second grade teacher at Pleasant Valley Elementary School in Wichita, USD 259; Vickie Marcozzi, an art and enrichment reading and writing teacher for grades second through fifth at Oakdale Elementary School in Salina, USD 305; and Kathy Wagoner, an English teacher at Hays High School in Hays, USD 489; and

WHEREAS, The 2022 Kansas Master Teachers are Andy Battenfield, a physical education teacher at Village Elementary in Emporia, USD 253; Melanie Hammond, a chemistry and physical science teacher at South High School in Salina, USD 305; Karen Stohlmann Henderson, a math and engineering teacher at Northwest High School in Blue Valley, USD 229; Sarah M. Hoff, a social studies teacher at Dodge City High School in Dodge City, USD 443; Gina Johnson, a fourth and fifth grade teacher at O'Loughlin Elementary School in Hays, USD 489; Bryan Scruggs, an instructional coach at Seitz Elementary School in Geary County, USD 475; and Barbara Tholen, a journalism advisor and graphic design teacher at Lawrence High School in Lawrence, USD 497; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1953; and

WHEREAS, The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher Awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for part of a semester where they present to classes of education students; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the State of Kansas recognize the invaluable contributions of great teachers such as those being honored today. These 2020 and 2022 Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration, as well as instruction. They teach with heart and soul, and by giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2020 and 2022 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrating excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That we offer heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their jobs, and we extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 14 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine.

Senate Resolution No. 1732 was sponsored by Senator Jeff Longbine.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate