Adam Proffitt, Director



Phone: (785) 296-2436 larry.campbell@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

January 19, 2021

The Honorable Mike Petersen, Chairperson Senate Committee on Transportation Statehouse, Room 345-S Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Senator Petersen:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for SB 19 by Senate Committee on Transportation

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning SB 19 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

SB 19 would designate a portion of U.S. Highway 77 from the western city limits of the City of Blue Rapids then west to the eastern city limits of the City of Waterville in Marshall County as the "CPL Allen E Oatney and SP4 Gene A Myers Memorial Highway." The bill would also amend current law to exclude the above designation from the Prairie Parkway. The Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) would be required to place signs to indicate the designation.

KDOT estimates that it would cost \$2,760 to manufacture and install two signs for the highway designated in the bill (\$1,380 per sign). However, current law requires that sufficient gifts and donations be received by KDOT prior to installing the signs to reimburse the agency for the initial cost, plus an additional 50.0 percent of the initial cost to defray future sign maintenance. Altogether, \$4,140 would need to be received from donations to install the signs. KDOT indicates that implementation of the bill would require an increase of \$2,760 to the expenditure limitation for the agency operations account in FY 2022. Any fiscal effect associated with SB 19 is not reflected in *The FY 2022 Governor's Budget Report*.

Sincerely,

Adam Proffitt

Director of the Budget