SESSION OF 2019

SUPPLEMENTAL NOTE ON HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 5015

As Adopted by the House

Brief*

HCR 5015 ratifies the Governor's May 9, 2019, State of Disaster Emergency declaration and extends this period of declaration from May 9, 2019, until January 13, 2020, subject to extension by the State Finance Council. [*Note:* Without ratification or extension, the declaration would be in effect for no more than 15 days.]

These 56 counties are identified in the resolution: Allen, Anderson, Barber, Barton, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Elk, Ellsworth, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jefferson, Kingman, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Linn, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Neosho, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Washington, Wilson, and Woodson. The resolution further provides the Governor may designate additional counties in accordance with continuing law.

Background

HCR 5015 was introduced in the House by Representative Ryckman. The resolution was referred to the House Committee of the Whole on May 29, 2019. The resolution was adopted by the House on May 29, 2019.

^{*}Supplemental notes are prepared by the Legislative Research Department and do not express legislative intent. The supplemental note and fiscal note for this bill may be accessed on the Internet at http://www.kslegislature.org

KSA 48-924 authorizes the Governor to issue a proclamation declaring a state of disaster emergency. KSA 48-924(b)(3) and (4) require a state of disaster emergency declared by the Governor to continue for no more than 15 days unless ratified by concurrent resolution of the Legislature or extended for no more than 30 days by the State Finance Council.