SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1735

A RESOLUTION recognizing the Merriam Park Elementary and the Shawnee Mission School District's Health Partnership School-Based Clinic on their 1st anniversary of providing primary care to local students.

WHEREAS, The Merriam Park Elementary School and the Shawnee Mission School District's Health Partnership Clinic provide much-needed pediatric-focused medical, dental and behavioral care to families in the school district that may not otherwise have access to care; and

WHEREAS, The clinic officially opened on March 30, 2018, to help keep students healthy and remain on a pathway to academic and personal success; and

WHEREAS, The clinic is the first of its kind in Johnson County, and its staff has worked tirelessly to provide a medical home for local students and families, even through the summer months; and

WHEREAS, The clinic is located in the Merriam Park Elementary School and is open to Shawnee Mission School District students and their siblings; and

WHEREAS, The clinic accepts anyone, regardless of income level, by accepting KanCare, commercial insurance and uninsured patients on a sliding-fee program; and

WHEREAS, Some services that the clinic provides include: Dental cleanings, sick visits, asthma care, behavioral healthcare, nutritional guidance, annual sports physicals and more; and

WHEREAS, The Health Partnership Clinic has enjoyed a successful first year, bringing accessible, quality and affordable healthcare to the students of Shawnee Mission School District and will continue for many more years: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize the Merriam Park Elementary and the Shawnee Mission School District's Health Partnership School-Based Clinic on their 1st anniversary of providing primary care to local students; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Pettey.

enator Pat Pettey.
nated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body
<u></u>
President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.