## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1709**

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending 2018 Milken Educator Award winner Linda Dishman.

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards program, established by the Milken Family Foundation, recognizes the top educators in the country. Often deemed the "Oscars" of the teaching world, the program provides awards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals, and other educational professionals who inspire excellence; and

WHEREAS, Linda Dishman, educator at Berryton Elementary School in Shawnee Heights USD 450, has been selected as the Kansas recipient of the 2018 Milken Educator Award; and

WHEREAS, The award was presented to Dishman in person by the Milken Family Foundation's co-founder Lowell Milken alongside former Governor Jeff Colyer in front of the students and staff at Berryton Elementary on October 12, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Dishman is the only award winner from Kansas among this year's 40 honorees. The award includes a \$25,000 cash prize; and

WHEREAS, Dishman earned her bachelor's degree in elementary education from Washburn University in 2012 and a master's degree in education from Fort Hays State University in 2018; and

WHEREAS, All Milken Educator Award winners will convene at the Milken Educator Forum in Washington, D.C., for professional development opportunities to continue and strengthen their teaching and leadership excellence: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we congratulate and commend Linda Dishman for being an outstanding Kansas educator and receiving the 2018 Milken Educator Award; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Hensley.

Senate Resolution No. 1709 was sponsored by Senator Anthony Hensley.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.