

68-West–Statehouse | 300 SW 10th Ave. | Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 (785) 296-3181

kslegres@klrd.ks.gov kslegislature.org/klrd

## September 24, 2020

To: Special Committee on Kansas Emergency Management Act

From: Natalie Nelson, Principal Research Analyst

**Re:** Historical and Current Composition of the State Finance Council

**1953 Session Laws (SB 68)** – Chapter 375, Section 8, created the State Finance Council (Council) with the following six members:

Member	Branch	City of Residence	County of Residence	Congressional District
Governor Edward F. Ann	Executive	Wichita	Sedgwick	4th (Current: 4th)
Lieutenant Governor Fred Hall	Executive	Dodge City	Ford	5th (Current: 1st)
Senate President Pro Tem* Paul R. Wunsch	Legislative	Kingman	Kingman	5th (Current: 4th)
Speaker of the House Charles D. Stough	Legislative	Lawrence	Douglas	2nd (Current: 2nd)
Chairperson of Senate Committee on Ways and Means Wilfred Cavaness	Legislative	Chanute	Neosho	3rd (Current: 2nd)
Chairperson of House Committee on Ways and Means+ Howard Bentley	Legislative	Kinsley	Edwards	5th (Current: 4th)

<sup>\*</sup> At the time, the Lieutenant Governor also served as Senate President, so the Pro Tem is the equivalent to today's Senate President.

The Council held its first meeting in 1953. In 1953, Kansas had six congressional districts:

- First District, represented by Howard S. Miller of Morrill, Brown County;
- Second District, represented by Errett P. Scrivner of Kansas City, Wyandotte County;

<sup>+</sup> The committee was not yet known as the House Committee on Appropriations.

- Third District, represented by Myron V. George of Altamont, Labette County;
- Fourth District, represented by Ed H. Rees of Emporia, Lyon County;
- Fifth District, represented by Clifford R. Hope of Garden City, Finney County; and
- Sixth District, represented by Wint Smith of Mankato, Jewell County.

**1974 Session Laws (SB 687)** – Chapter 387, Section 1, increased the size of the Council to nine by adding the majority and minority leaders of the House and Senate, and removing the Lieutenant Governor as a member. The Council has retained this composition to date. The current Council consists of the following members:

Member	Branch	City of Residence	County of Residence	Congressional District
Governor Laura Kelly	Executive	Topeka	Shawnee	2nd
Speaker of the House Ron Ryckman, Jr.	Legislative	Olathe	Johnson	3rd
President of the Senate Susan Wagle	Legislative	Wichita	Sedgwick	4th
Senate Majority Leader Jim Denning	Legislative	Overland Park	Johnson	3rd
House Majority Leader Dan Hawkins	Legislative	Wichita	Sedgwick	4th
Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley	Legislative	Topeka	Shawnee	2nd
House Minority Leader Tom Sawyer	Legislative	Wichita	Sedgwick	4th
Chairperson of House Committee on Appropriations Troy Waymaster	Legislative	Bunker Hill	Russell	1st
Chairperson of Senate Committee on Ways and Means Carolyn McGinn	Legislative	Sedgwick	Sedgwick	4th

## KANSAS

(6 districts)

SCALE IN MILES











