

## SALINE COUNTY COMMISSION

Room 217 – 300 W Ash PO Box 5040 Salina, Kansas 67402-5040 Phone: (785) 309-5825 FAX: (785) 309-5811

Website: www.saline.org

Commissioners:

Monte Shadwick, First District

Robert H. Vidricksen II Second District

> Rodger Sparks Third District

James L. Weese Fourth District

Michael J. White Fifth District

Jay Hall Legislative Policy Director KAC 300 SW 8th Ave 3<sup>rd</sup> floor Topeka, Kansas 66603-3912

Dear Mr. Hall:

Under statutory home rule Saline County is currently limited from exercising the full right of self-government in local manners. Authority granted by statutory home rule is sometimes ambiguous and does not always address needs which are uniquely local in nature. Constitutional home rule would grant authority of self-government in local matters to the citizens.

It is impossible to compile a complete list of the many ways constitutional home rule powers could be used to benefit our community since it would open up opportunity for new and innovative methods of serving the public. However it is fair to say that the ability to acquire and manage revenue sources and the ability to address the economic needs of our community could be very exciting benefits of constitutional home rule.

The governing body of Saline County advocates the adoption of constitutional home rule for counties in Kansas.

Sincerely

Robert Vidricksen

Saline County Commission, Chairman

Vidriku