# Joint Legislative Transportation Vision Task Force; House Sub. for SB 391

**House Sub. for SB 391** establishes the Joint Legislative Transportation Vision Task Force (Task Force). Its provisions expire June 30, 2019.

## Membership

The Task Force includes certain persons by virtue of office and appointees of certain officials.

The Task Force will include these legislative officials:

- The chairperson and ranking minority member of the House Committee on Transportation;
- The chairperson of the House Committee on Transportation and Public Safety Budget;
- The chairperson of the House Committee on Appropriations, or the chairperson's designee from the House Committee on Appropriations;
- The chairperson and ranking minority member of the Senate Committee on Transportation;
- The chairperson of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means Subcommittee on Transportation; and
- The chairperson of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means, or the chairperson's designee from the Senate Committee on Ways and Means.

The following officials will appoint Task Force members, as listed below:

- Speaker of the House of Representatives (House):
  - One member of the House;
  - Four Kansas residents;
- President of the Senate:
  - One member of the Senate;
  - Four Kansas residents;
- Minority Leader of the House:
  - One member of the House;

1

- Two Kansas residents;
- Minority Leader of the Senate:
  - One member of the Senate;
  - Two Kansas residents;

These entities each will appoint members, as listed below:

- Kansas Economic Lifelines will appoint three Kansas residents;
- The League of Kansas Municipalities will appoint two city representatives, one from a city with a population exceeding 25,000 and one from a city with a population less than or equal to 25,000; and
- The Kansas Association of Counties will appoint two county commissioners, one from a county with a population exceeding 40,000 and one from a county with a population less than or equal to 40,000.

In addition, the following *ex officio* members will be non-voting members of the Task Force:

- Secretary of Transportation, or the Secretary's designee;
- Secretary of Revenue, or the Secretary's designee;
- Secretary of Agriculture, or the Secretary's designee; and
- Chief Executive Officer of the Kansas Turnpike Authority, or the Officer's designee.

The bill requires appointed members who are not legislators to be affiliated with one of the stakeholder organizations listed below, except for two members appointed by the Speaker of the House and two members appointed by the President of the Senate. Not more than two members may be appointed from each of those organizations:

- The Kansas Contractors Association;
- The Heavy Constructors Association;
- The Kansas Aggregate Producers' Association;
- The Kansas Ready Mix Association;
- The Greater Kansas City Building and Construction Trades Council;

- The American Council of Engineering Companies of Kansas;
- The Kansas Public Transit Association;
- A class I railroad company;
- A short line railroad company;
- The Kansas Motor Carriers Association;
- The Portland Cement Association;
- The Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association of Kansas;
- The Kansas Asphalt Pavement Association;
- The International Association of Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation Workers;
- A Kansas aerospace company;
- The Kansas Grain and Feed Association;
- The Kansas Economic Development Alliance; or
- The AFL-CIO.

The bill requires members of the Task Force be appointed no later than 45 days from the effective date of the bill (upon publication in the *Kansas Register*). The bill requires all members to be residents of Kansas. The bill also requires at least two members from all six Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) districts.

# Co-chairpersons, Meetings, and Quorum

The Speaker of the House will select a representative and the President of the Senate will select a senator to serve as co-chairpersons of the Task Force.

The bill authorizes the Task Force to meet in an open meeting at any time upon the call of either co-chairperson of the Task Force.

A majority of the voting members of the Task Force will constitute a quorum. Any action by the Task Force will be by motion adopted by a majority of voting members present when there is a quorum.

## Filing of Vacancies; Designees

The bill requires any vacancy on the Task Force be filled by appointment in the manner prescribed for the original appointment.

Any member appointed to the Task Force or a subcommittee who is a member of the House or Senate may designate another member of the respective chamber to attend any or all meetings of the Task Force or a subcommittee as the member's designee.

#### Subcommittees

The bill authorizes the co-chairpersons to establish any subcommittees as the cochairpersons deem necessary and for those subcommittees to meet on dates and locations approved by the Task Force co-chairpersons.

### Duties of the Task Force

The bill states the Task Force has the following mission:

- Evaluate the progress of the 2010 Transportation Works for Kansas program to date;
- Evaluate the current system condition of the state transportation system, including roads and bridges;
- Solicit local input on uncompleted and future projects; the bill requires the cochairpersons to schedule and organize open meetings for this purpose to be held at least eight times, including one in each KDOT district and in the Wichita and Kansas City metropolitan areas;
- Evaluate current uses of State Highway Fund dollars, including fund transfers for other purposes outside of infrastructure improvements;
- Evaluate current transportation funding in Kansas to determine whether it is sufficient to not only maintain the transportation system in its current state, but also to ensure it serves the future transportation needs of Kansas residents;
- Identify additional necessary transportation projects, especially projects with a direct effect on the economic health of Kansas and its residents;
- Make recommendations regarding the needs of the transportation system over the next ten years and beyond; and
- Make recommendations on the future structure of the State Highway Fund as it relates to maintaining the state infrastructure system.

### Reports to the Legislature

The bill requires the Task Force to make and submit reports to the Legislature by January 31, 2019, concerning all such work and recommendations of the Task Force.

### Support Services and Compensation

The bill requires staff of the Office of Revisor of Statutes, Kansas Legislative Research Department, and Division of Legislative Administrative Services to provide assistance as may be requested by the Task Force.

KDOT will be required, upon request by the Task Force, to provide data and information relating to the transportation system in Kansas that is not otherwise prohibited or restricted from disclosure by state or federal law.

Subject to approval by the Legislative Coordinating Council, legislative Task Force members will be paid as specified in KSA 75-3223(e).