As Amended by House Committee

Session of 2018

SENATE BILL No. 331

By Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources

1-25

1 AN ACT concerning the department of wildlife, parks and tourism; 2 relating to state parks; **establishing the Flint Hills advisory council**; 3 designating Flint Hills trail state park and Little Jerusalem Badlands 4 state park; amending K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 32-837 and repealing the 5 existing section.

6

7 Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

8 New Section 1. (a) There is hereby established the Flint Hills 9 advisory council. The council shall study and assess the development, 10 staffing, maintenance and promotion of the Flint Hills nature trail. 11 The council shall report its findings and recommendations to the 12 Kansas department of wildlife, parks and tourism on a quarterly 13 basis.

14 **(b)** The Flint Hills advisory council shall consist of the following 15 members:

16 (1) <u>The Kansas house of representatives member who represents</u> 17 <u>Kansas' 68th state house district, who shall serve as the chairperson of</u> 18 <u>the Flint Hills advisory council</u> {Two members of the Kansas 19 legislature who reside in a district adjoining the Flint Hills nature 20 trail, or the members' designees, one to be appointed by the president 21 of the senate and one to be appointed by the speaker of the house of 22 representatives};

(2) one county commissioner of Miami county, or the
 commissioner's designee, to be appointed by the board of county
 commissioners of Miami county;

(3) one resident of an incorporated city within Miami county{, or
 the resident's designee,} to be appointed by the governing body of the
 county seat;

(4) one county commissioner of Franklin county, or the
 commissioner's designee, to be appointed by the board of county
 commissioners of Franklin county;

32 (5) one resident of an incorporated city within Franklin county{,
33 or the resident's designee,} to be appointed by the governing body of
34 the county seat;

1 (6) one county commissioner of Osage county, or the 2 commissioner's designee, to be appointed by the board of county 3 commissioners of Osage county;

4 (7) one resident of an incorporated city within Osage county{, or 5 the resident's designee,} to be appointed by the governing body of the 6 county seat;

7 (8) one county commissioner of Lyon county, or the
8 commissioner's designee, to be appointed by the board of county
9 commissioners of Lyon county;

(9) one resident of an incorporated city within Lyon county{, or
 the resident's designee,} to be appointed by the governing body of the
 county seat;

(10) one county commissioner of Morris county, or the
 commissioner's designee, to be appointed by the board of county
 commissioners of Morris county;

(11) one resident of an incorporated city within Morris county{,
 or the resident's designee,} to be appointed by the governing body of
 the county seat;

(12) one county commissioner of Dickinson county, or the
 commissioner's designee, to be appointed by the board of county
 commissioners of Dickinson county; and

(13) one resident of an incorporated city within Dickinson
 county{, or the resident's designee,} to be appointed by the governing
 body of the<u>ocunty</u> {county} seat.

(c){ The member appointed in subsection (b)(1) by the speaker of
the house of representatives shall serve as the first chairperson of the
Flint Hills advisory council and the member appointed in subsection
(b)(1) by the president of the senate shall serve as the first vicechairperson of the council. The position of chairperson and vicechairperson shall alternate annually upon the first meeting of the
council in each calendar year.

(d)} (1) Members of the Flint Hills advisory council shall be
appointed no later than August 1, 2018. Any vacancy in the
membership of the council shall be filled by appointment in the same
manner prescribed in this section for the original appointment.}

36 (2) The council shall meet quarterly and at the call of the 37 chairperson or upon the request of a majority of the council.

38 (d){(e)} The members of the Flint Hills advisory council shall be appointed for terms not to exceed three years and, with the exception of the chairperson {and vice-chairperson}, shall serve no more than two consecutive terms. The initial terms for the members will be staggered as follows:

43 (1) Members appointed in subsection (b)(2), (7), (8) and (13) shall

1 serve for an initial term of one year;

2 (2) members appointed in subsection (b)(3), (4), (9) and (10) shall 3 serve for an initial term of two years; and

4 (3) members appointed in subsection (b)(5), (6), (11) and (12) 5 shall serve for an initial term of three years.

6 (e){(f)} Subject to approval by the legislative coordinating
7 council, legislative members of the Flint Hills advisory council shall
8 receive amounts provided in K.S.A. 75-3223(e), and amendments
9 thereto.

10 Section 1. Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 32-837 is hereby amended to read as follows: 32-837. (a) The following parks have been designated as a 11 part of the state park system: (1) Kanopolis-Mushroom Rock state park in 12 Ellsworth county; (2) Cross Timbers state park at Toronto Lake in 13 14 Woodson county; (3) Fall River state park in Greenwood county; (4) Cedar Bluff state park in Trego county; (5) Tuttle Creek state park in 15 16 Pottawatomie and Riley counties; (6) Pomona state park in Osage county; 17 (7) Cheney state park in Kingman and Reno counties; (8) Lake Crawford state park in Crawford county; (9) Lovewell state park in Jewell county; 18 19 (10) Lake Meade state park in Meade county; (11) Prairie Dog state park 20 in Norton county; (12) Webster state park in Rooks county; (13) Wilson 21 state park in Russell county; (14) Milford state park in Geary county; (15) 22 Historic Lake Scott state park in Scott county; (16) Elk City state park in 23 Montgomery county; (17) Perry state park in Jefferson county; (18) Glen Elder state park in Mitchell county; (19) El Dorado state park in Butler 24 25 county; (20) Eisenhower state park in Osage county; (21) Clinton state park in Douglas and Shawnee counties; (22) Sand Hills state park in Reno 26 27 county; (23) Hillsdale state park in Miami county; (24) Kaw River state 28 park in Shawnee county; and (25) Prairie Spirit rail trail state park in 29 Franklin, Anderson and Allen counties; (26) Flint Hills trail state park in Miami, Franklin, Osage, Lyon, Morris and Dickinson counties; and (27) 30 31 Little Jerusalem Badlands state park in Logan county.

(b) No state park named in subsection (a) shall be removed from thestate park system without legislative approval.

(c) The hours that Kaw River state park in Shawnee county is open to
the public may be limited to those hours that parks of the city of Topeka
are open, except that such state park shall be open at all hours for
prescheduled events.

38 (d) The requirements found in K.S.A. 65-171d(j)(2), and 39 amendments thereto, shall not apply to subsection (a)(25) or (a)(26).

40 {(e) For any state park listed in subsection (a) containing a 41 recreational trail created pursuant to 16 U.S.C.§ 1247(d), the Kansas 42 department of wildlife, parks and tourism shall carry out the duties 43 listed in K.S.A. 58-3212(a)(1) through (a)(11), and amendments 2 Sec.<u>2</u>. 3. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 32-837 is hereby repealed.

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its 3 publication in the statute book. 4