

Phone: (785) 296-2436 Fax: (785) 296-0231 shawn.sullivan@ks.gov

Shawn Sullivan, Director of the Budget

Sam Brownback, Governor

February 5, 2018

The Honorable John Barker, Chairperson House Committee on Federal and State Affairs Statehouse, Room 285-N Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Barker:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for HB 2519 by Representative Swanson

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning HB 2519 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

HB 2519 would exempt Kansas from observing federal daylight saving time provisions beginning the first Sunday in November of 2018 at 2:00 a.m. The bill would not affect any actions, rights, or movements governed by federal law.

Estimated State Fiscal Effect				
	FY 2018	FY 2018	FY 2019	FY 2019
	SGF	All Funds	SGF	All Funds
Revenue				
Expenditure			750,000	750,000
FTE Pos.				

The Office of Information Technology Services (OITS) indicates that enactment of HB 2519 would increase expenditures by \$750,000 from the State General Fund to conduct an analysis of statewide systems and software. The analysis would involve OITS identifying all systems and software that utilize a time, date and calendar function and then determining the cost of aligning affected systems and software with the provisions of HB 2519. OITS indicates that making the changes and updates to the systems and software would require further expenditures, but the total fiscal effect beyond the initial analysis cannot be estimated.

The Honorable John Barker, Chairperson February 5, 2018 Page 2—HB 2519

The Kansas Adjutant General's Department, Kansas Lottery, Kansas Department of Commerce, Kansas Association of Counties, and League of Kansas Municipalities indicate that the bill would have no fiscal effect. Any fiscal effect associated with HB 2519 is not reflected in *The FY 2019 Governor's Budget Report*.

Sincerely,

Shawn Sullivan,

Director of the Budget

cc: Bob North, Commerce
Colleen Becker, Department of Administration
Chardae Caine, League of Municipalities
Melissa Wangemann, Association of Counties
Stephen Durrell, Lottery
Cheri Froetschner, Office of the Adjutant General