SEDGWICK COUNTY. KANSAS



BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

DAVID T. DENNIS CHARMAN THIRD DISTRICT

DAVE UNRUH CHAIR PRO TEM FIRST DISTRICT MICHAEL O'DONNELL, H COMMISSIONER SECOND DISTRICT

RICHARD RANZAU COMMISSIONER FOURTH DISTRICT JIM HOWELL COMMISSIONER FIFTH DISTRICT

COUNTY COURTHOUSE • 525 NORTH MAIN • SUITE 320 • WICHITA, KANSAS 67203-3759 • TELEPHONE (316) 660-9300 • FAX (316) 383-8275

January 26, 2018

Members of the Committee of Ethics, Elections and Local Government:

Sedgwick County and its Board of County Commissioners support 2509 Under the current structure, the Election Commissioner in the larger counties in Kansas submits its budget without any sort of oversight or approval. In addition, compensation and other human resources policies do not have to be followed by the Election Commissioner. This is the only scenario in Kansas where an elected or appointed official enjoys no limitation on how much it can spend or which policies it must follow. Obviously this has potential negative ramifications which could be large.

This bill simply brings the budgptary authority under the County Commission and requires the Election Commissioner to follow county personnel policies. The Election Commissioner retains autonomy over the administration of elections.

Sedgwick County would urge your support to pass H B L 50 ^Cl

David Dennis, Chairman

Board of County Commissioners