## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1786**

A RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING and commending the Osage City High School boys' basketball team and Coach Dennis Fort for winning the 2016 KSHSAA Class 3A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The Osage City High School boys' basketball team won the 2016 Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA) Class 3A State Basketball Championship with a 56-49 victory over Sabetha High School in the state championship game at the Hutchinson Sports Arena on March 12, 2016; and

WHEREAS, To get to the championship game, the number one-seeded Osage City Indians defeated Wellsville 60-44 in the quarterfinal game and Gypsum-Southeast of Saline 74-45 in the semifinal game; and

WHEREAS, The Osage City Indians basketball team finished the season with a record of 25 wins and 1 loss. This was the third time in the school's history the team had won the state title. The school had previously won the 3A state title in 2000 and the Class B state title in 1965; and

WHEREAS, The members of the championship team include: Derrick Cooley, Jason Cooley, Duncan Fort, Ryan Haskins, Kaleb Irvin, Zach Irvin, Tucker Kimball, Peyton Pearson, Trenton Plinsky, Brett Sage, Joe Schemm, Carter Swindale and Tyson Wilkins; Head Coach Dennis Fort, Assistant Coaches James Bellinger and Jordan Tice; and

WHEREAS, Duncan Fort was named to the Topeka Capital-Journal 2016 All-State and Class 3A first teams, while his father, Coach Dennis Fort, was named All-State Coach of the Year, and Ryan Haskins was named to the Class 3A first team; and

WHEREAS, The team also received statewide recognition for their athletic abilities and fine sportsmanship. The success of this team was due to their excellent teamwork, competitive spirit and strong will to win. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, teachers and staff, fellow students, parents and the entire Osage City community: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That the Osage City High School boys' basketball team and Coach Dennis Fort be congratulated and commended for winning the 2016 KSHSAA Class 3A State Basketball Championship; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to USD 420 Superintendent Troy Hutton and Osage City High School Principal Tony Heward.

Senate Resolution No. 1786 was sponsored by Senator Anthony Hensley.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.