SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1743

A Resolution congratulating the Shawnee Mission East High School men's swimming and diving teams on winning the Kansas State Swimming and Diving Championship.

WHEREAS, The Shawnee Mission East High School men's swimming and diving teams won the 2015 Kansas State Swimming and Diving Championship by three points over Blue Valley North High School; and

WHEREAS, The meet was held at the Hummer Natatorium on February 20 and 21, 2015; and WHEREAS, The Shawnee Mission East High School team was represented by the following 16 swimmers and three divers: Adam Bublitz, Tyler Cunningham, John Foster, Aiden Hense, Bennett Hense, Christian Hense, Aiden Holbrook, Patrick Hornung, Mitch Kerr, Max Keeter, Carter Kirkland, Hayden Linscott, Ian Longan, Joe McGuire, Tom Peters, Evan Root, Benn Schmatz, Henry Sniezek and Lawson Smith; and

WHEREAS, Senior Benn Schmatz and freshman Aiden Holbrook were named to the Kansas State 1st Team. Senior Patrick Hornung and sophomore Hayden Linscott were named to the Kansas State 2nd Team. Benn Schmatz was the Kansas Champion in the 100-yard breaststroke and Aiden Holbrook was the Kansas Champion in the 500-yard freestyle; and

WHEREAS, Shawnee Mission East High School also won the Sunflower League Conference title for the 12th consecutive year; and

WHEREAS, The team was coached by Wiley Wright, Colby Dischinger and Betsy Anderson. Coach Wright celebrated his 30th year of coaching at Shawnee Mission East High School this year. Under Coach Wright's leadership, the school has captured 19 Sunflower League titles and eight Kansas State titles: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Shawnee Mission East High School men's swimming and diving teams on winning the 2015 Kansas State Swimming and Diving Championship. The work ethic these young men demonstrate throughout the season serves as a shining example for all young Kansans; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send two enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Wolf.

Senate Resolution No. 1743 was sponsored by Senators Kay Wolf and Greg Smith. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate