SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1740

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2015 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2015. These seven outstanding educators were honored on Wednesday, April 1, with a day of receptions, seminars and tours at the sponsoring institution, Emporia State University; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2015 winners; and

WHEREAS, The 2015 Kansas Master Teachers are: Carmen Cantrell, a special education teacher at Indian Hills Middle School in Shawnee Mission; Barbara Clark, a fourth grade teacher at Northview Elementary School in Manhattan; Kori Green, an eighth grade U.S. history teacher at El Dorado Middle School in El Dorado; Leslie McAfee, a mathematics teacher at Piper High School in Kansas City; Bill McFarland, a seventh grade social studies teacher at Washburn Rural Middle School in Topeka; Reed Uthe, a speech and drama teacher at Lakewood Middle School in Overland Park; and Ginger Whiteside Steck, an art teacher for grades six through eight at Andover Central Middle School in Andover; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1953. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher Awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Bow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for part of a semester. During this time, the teachers present to classes of education students; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Kansas Senate recognize the invaluable contribution of great teachers such as those being honored here today. These 2015 Kansas Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration along with instruction. They teach with heart and soul. By giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we offer our heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators – these teachers who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their jobs; that we congratulate and commend the seven 2015 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrating excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall provide seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine.

Senate Resolution No. 1740 was sponsored by Senators Longbine, Fitzgerald, Hawk, Knox, Masterson, Melcher, Schmidt and Wolf.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution or	ginated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.