HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6032

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2016 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas state department of education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers — one elementary and one secondary in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as the Kansas Teacher of the Year, with the winner being chosen from among the eight finalists. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship, which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities supporting the mission of the program. The 2016 Kansas Teacher of the Year and the finalists were honored at an awards banquet on November 21, 2015. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the event; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers, presented by Voya Financial; and

WHEREAS, The 2016 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Justin Coffey, Dodge City USD 443; and the regional finalists are Kristoffer R. Barikmo, Blue Valley USD 229; Lucinda M. Crenshaw, Lawrence USD 497; Shelly Jennings, Maize USD 266; Sheila E. Koup, Eureka USD 389; Nona Mason, Goodland USD 352; B. Jolene Pennington, Paola USD 368; and Anna Sahadeo, De Soto USD 232: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2016 Kansas Teacher of the Year team and wish Mr. Coffey success in the national competition.

House Resolution No. 6032 was sponsored by Representatives Ron Highland and Ron Ryckman Sr.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body

Speaker of the House.

Chief Clerk of the House.