Journal of the Senate

FOURTEENTH DAY

SENATE CHAMBER, TOPEKA, KANSAS Friday, January 29, 2016, 8:00 a.m.

The Senate was called to order pro forma by Senator Tom Arpke.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bills were introduced and read by title:

SB 388, AN ACT concerning postsecondary education; relating to the awarding of credit hours for degree completion, by Committee on Assessment and Taxation.

SB 389, AN ACT making and concerning appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2017, and June 30, 2018, for the state agencies; authorizing certain transfers, capital improvement projects and fees, imposing certain restrictions and limitations, and directing or authorizing certain receipts, disbursements, procedures and acts incidental to the foregoing; amending K.S.A. 38-2102 and K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 75-2319 and repealing the existing sections, by Committee on Ways and Means.

REFERENCE OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bills were referred to Committees as indicated:

Ethics and Elections: **SB 383**. Financial Institutions and Insurance: **SB 381, SB 382, SB 387**. Natural Resources: **SB 384**. Public Health and Welfare: **SB 385, SB 386**.

REPORT ON ENROLLED BILLS

SR 1757 reported correctly enrolled, properly signed and presented to the Secretary of the Senate on January 29, 2016.

TRIBUTES

The Committee on **Organization, Calendar and Rules** authorizes the following tributes for the week of January 25 through January 29, 2016:

Senator Bowers: congratulating Kathy Schwerdtfager on being elected president of the KBA Young Bank Officers of Kansas, recognizing Rev. Don McCarthy on his 50 years as a KSHSAA sports official, congratulating Spencer Davidson on winning first place in the Kansas Association of Conservation Districts essay contest, recognizing Matthew Van Dyke on achieving the rank of Eagle Scout, congratulating Candace Rachel on being named the Plainville Citizen of the Year for 2015, congratulating Stan and Donna Kats for being named the Phillips County Farm Bureau Farm Family of the Year, congratulating Michael Sinclair on being named the Rooks County Health Center Employee of the Year, congratulating Dwight and Marilyn Miller on receiving the Kansas Farm Bureau Friend of Agriculture Award, congratulating Darrell and Avonne Rubottom on receiving the Kansas Farm Bureau Friend of Agriculture Award, congratulating Art Duerksen on receiving the Patriot Award, congratulating Miranda Clark-Ulrich on being named a 2015 NAIA Scholar Athlete;

Senator Faust-Goudeau: congratulating Saint Matthew C.M.E. Church in Wichita on its 100th Church Anniversary;

Senator Kelly: congratulating Melanie Shreve on receiving the Military Health Systems Nursing Leadership Excellence Award;

Senator O'Donnell: congratulating Wink Hartman on his 70th Birthday and commending his service in the State of Kansas, congratulating Mort's Martini and Cigar Bar on its 20th Anniversary; and

Senator Ostmeyer: congratulating Alicia Feyerherm on winning first place in the "If I Were Mayor" Essay Contest, congratulating Trevor Zarbnicky on winning first place in the "If I Were Mayor" Essay Contest, congratulating Nona Mason on being named a 2016 Regional Teacher of the Year.

On motion of Senator Bruce, the Senate adjourned until 2:30 p.m., Monday, February 1, 2016.

ROSE MARIE GLATT, CHARLENE BAILEY, CINDY SHEPARD, *Journal Clerks*. COREY CARNAHAN, *Secretary of the Senate*.