2014 Kansas Statutes

74-6502. Commission membership; qualifications; appointment; terms; vacancies. (a) The commission shall consist of seven members. No more than four members shall be members of the same political party. Subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4315c, and amendments thereto, each congressional district in the state of Kansas shall be represented on the commission by at least one member who is a resident of the district at the time of appointment and the remainder shall represent the state at large. Commission members shall be appointed by the governor. A person appointed to fill a vacancy which occurs prior to the expiration of a term shall be appointed for the unexpired term. Except as provided by subsection (b), each member of the commission shall be appointed for a three-year term.

(b) Members shall be appointed for terms of three years and until successors are appointed and qualified.

(c) Nothing in this subsection shall be construed as prohibiting the reappointment of members who had been appointed prior to the effective date of this act.

History: L. 1974, ch. 208, § 2; L. 1982, ch. 347, § 44; L. 1992, ch. 262, § 13; L. 2001, ch. 86, § 1; L. 2004, ch. 42, § 3; July 1.