25-106. Hours of voting; change of hours, how made; rules and regulations. (a) The provisions of this subsection shall apply to all counties in Kansas located in the central time zone.

At all national, state, county and township primary and general elections the polls shall open at 7:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m., unless different hours are set and publicly announced by the county election officer. If different hours are set, the polls shall be open at least 12 continuous hours commencing not earlier than 6:00 a.m. and ending not later than 8:00 p.m. and ending not earlier than 7:00 p.m. The secretary of state shall adopt rules and regulations specifying the time and manner of setting and announcing any change of hours under authority of this subsection.

(b) The provisions of this subsection shall apply to all counties in Kansas located in the mountain time zone.

At all national, state, county and township primary and general elections the polls shall open at 6:00 a.m. and close at 6:00 p.m., unless different hours are set and publicly announced by the county election officer. If different hours are set, the polls shall be open at least 12 continuous hours commencing not earlier than 5:00 a.m. and ending not later than 7:00 p.m. and ending not earlier than 6:00 p.m. The secretary of state shall adopt rules and regulations specifying the time and manner of setting and announcing any change of hours under authority of this subsection.

History: L. 1917, ch. 182, § 1; R.S. 1923, 25-106; L. 1941, ch. 224, § 1; L. 1949, ch. 252, § 1; L. 1968, ch. 406, § 61; L. 2001, ch. 124, § 2; July 1.