2014 Kansas Statutes

19-2682. Same; charter commission membership; appointment. (a) A charter commission established pursuant to K.S.A. 19-2681, and amendments thereto, shall consist of 25 members and shall be appointed as follows: (1) (A) Three members shall be appointed by the members of the senate of the state of Kansas who are residents of Johnson county; and

(B) three members shall be appointed by the members of the house of representatives of the state of Kansas who are residents of Johnson county;

Each member appointed pursuant to this subsection (1) shall reside in a different senatorial district;

(2) two members shall be appointed by the governing body of the Johnson county republican central committee;

(3) two members shall be appointed by the governing body of the Johnson county democratic central committee;

(4) eight members shall be appointed by the board of county commissioners. Of such members, one member shall be appointed from each county commissioner district and the remaining shall represent the county at large;

(5) two members shall be appointed by the Johnson county chamber presidents' council;

(6) three members shall be appointed by the Johnson county members of the Johnson and Wyandotte counties council of mayors. Such members shall be mayors or their designees of cities located in Johnson county; and

(7) two members shall be appointed by the Johnson county planning commission. Such members shall be residents of the unincorporated area of Johnson county.

Such members shall be appointed within 21 days after the adoption of the resolution establishing such commission.

No person holding an elective state or county office shall serve on the charter commission.

(b) Any vacancy on the commission shall be filled by the appointing authority which made the original appointment.

History: L. 1975, ch. 151, § 3; L. 1976, ch. 132, § 2; L. 1999, ch. 26, § 2; Apr. 1.