2014 Kansas Statutes

17-2341. Commissioners of authority; appointment, qualifications, terms, compensation, meetings, officers. When the governing body of a municipality adopts a resolution as aforesaid, it shall promptly notify the mayor or board of county commissioners of its adoption. Upon receiving the notice, the mayor or board of county commissioners shall appoint five (5) persons as commissioners of the authority created for said municipality.

The commissioners who are first appointed pursuant to this act shall be designated to serve one (1) for one (1) year, one (1) for two (2) years, one (1) for three (3) years and two (2) for four (4) years each, from the date of their appointment, but thereafter commissioners shall be appointed as aforesaid for a term of office of four (4) years except that all vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term, all such appointments to be made by the official or body making the original appointment: Provided, That in any city having a population of more than two hundred fifty thousand (250,000), the governing body of such city may provide, as an alternative to the terms hereinabove provided for, that commissioners shall serve for terms as follows: Three (3) of such commissioners first appointed shall serve for terms of two (2) years, such terms to begin on May 1, 1975; thereafter, upon the expiration of such terms, successors shall be appointed in each odd-numbered year to fill the vacancies created, and thereafter each commissioner shall serve for a term of four (4) years.

A commissioner shall receive no compensation for his or her services, but shall be entitled to the necessary expenses, including traveling expenses, incurred in the discharge of his or her duties. Each commissioner shall hold office until his or her successor has been appointed and has qualified. A certificate of the appointment or reappointment of any commissioner shall be filed with the authority and this certificate shall be conclusive evidence of the due and proper appointment of the commissioner.

The powers delegated by a municipality to an authority shall be vested in the commissioners thereof in office from time to time. Three (3) commissioners shall constitute a quorum of such authority for the purpose of conducting its business and exercising its powers and for all other purposes, notwithstanding the existence of any vacancies. Action may be taken by the authority upon a vote of a majority of the commissioners present, unless in any case the bylaws of the authority shall require a larger number. Meetings of the commissioners of an authority may be held anywhere within the perimeter boundaries of the area of operation of the authority or within any additional area where the authority is authorized to undertake a project. Appointments may be made of any persons as commissioners of the authority who reside within its boundaries or area, and who are otherwise eligible for such appointments under this act. The commissioners of an authority shall elect a chairman and vice-chairman from among the commissioners.

History: L. 1957, ch. 132, § 5; L. 1973, ch. 96, § 3; L. 1975, ch. 138, § 1; Feb. 17.