## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1880

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Hillary Boyle for being named Miss Capital City 2012.

WHEREAS, Hillary Boyle was named Miss Capital City 2012; and

WHEREAS, Hillary is a senior at Kansas State University where she is currently seeking a bachelor of science in accounting with a minor in economics; and

WHEREAS, Hillary has received several scholastic honors, such as Dean's Honor roll for six semesters, Beta Alpha Psi Honorary, Phi Eta Sigma National Collegiate Honor Society, Conoco-Phillips SPIRIT Scholar Candidate 2010, Business Administration Dean's Scholarship, KSU Leadership Scholarship and AXA National Scholarship; and

WHEREAS, Hillary has held several leadership positions, serving on the KSU Student Foundation Board, Telefund Chair and K-State Proud Student Scholarship Allocations Committee, KSU Student Alumni Board and sophomore recruitment chairman; and

WHEREAS, Hillary is an accomplished vocalist, representing and serving as an ambassador for Kansas State University through the K-State Singer Show Choir; and

WHEREAS, Hillary has earned the opportunity to be gainfully employed by INVISTA, which is a subsidiary of Koch Industries, Inc.; and

WHEREAS, Hillary supports Relay for Life, a fundraiser for research and programming for the American Cancer Society, where she has been volunteering since her freshman year at Salina High School; and

WHEREAS, Hillary can trace her Kansas ancestors back seven generations to the pioneer days when they arrived in 1870: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we congratulate Hillary Boyle for being named Miss Capital City 2012 and that we thank her for the work she continues to do across Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Schmidt.

Senate Resolution No. 1880 was sponsored by Senator Vicki Schmidt.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.