SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1860

A RESOLUTION congratulating the McPherson High School girls basketball team for winning the 2012 Class 4A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The McPherson High School girls basketball team won the 2012 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 4A State Basketball Championship with a 34-27 victory over Holton in the state championship game at the Bicentennial Center in Salina. Their win ended the 51-game winning streak of defending state champions Holton; and

WHEREAS, The 2012 McPherson girls basketball team finished the season with a record of 25-1 and added to McPherson's rich tradition of excellence in girls basketball by winning the school's 8th state championship. The previous seven championships were in Class 5A before the school dropped to 4A this year; and

WHEREAS, The members of the championship team are: Seniors Ashton Bruner and Tanner Hein, juniors Madison Lackey, Katelyn Loecker and Hailey Ruder, sophomores Janae Barnes, Brooke Bate, Alisa Becker, Reagan Beckwith, Abby Pedersen, Moira Pyle and Hannah Willems, freshmen Brianna Cooks and Madison Hoffman, and managers and filmer Megan Malm, Shelby Miller, Ivanna Moyer and Izzy Moyer. The head coach is Chris Strathman and the assistant coaches are Mike Reith, Shelly Prescott and Tim Ellet; and

WHEREAS, The accomplishments of the McPherson High School girls basketball team continue to inspire and amaze basketball fans across the state of Kansas: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the McPherson High School girls basketball team and Coach Chris Strathman be congratulated for winning the 2012 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 4A State Basketball Championship. Their hard work and athletic ability are points of pride for their families, school and the community of McPherson. We extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 22 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Emler.

Senate Resolution No. 1860 was sponsored by Senator Jay Scott Emler.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.