## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1846

A Resolution congratulating the Sterling High School boys' basketball team on winning the 2012 Class 2A state championship.

WHEREAS, The Sterling High School boys' basketball team won the 2012 Class 2A state basketball championship held in Manhattan; and

WHEREAS, The Sterling black bears 2012 boys' basketball team won the school's first ever state basketball championship; and

WHEREAS, The team is led by head coach Derek Schneider and assistant coaches Tyson Bauerle and Wes Laudermilk; and

WHEREAS, The team members who participated in this momentous and historic championship season for the Sterling boys' basketball team are Jake Jaderston, Riley Galyon, Kirk Engelland, Matt Dewerff, Seth Humphreys, Bryant Patterson, Keaton Prather, Austin Maxwell, Nathan Proffitt, Chad Bennett, Trey Bagby and Jordan Proffitt. Team managers are Scott Dellinger, Cole Slupski and Coby Comley; and

WHEREAS, Sterling beat the Meade buffaloes, who had previously been undefeated in the 2012 season and were the top-seed in the tournament; and

WHEREAS, The Sterling boys' basketball team challenged themselves to win throughout the season and were able to end with a 22 point victory over Meade. The final score of the championship game was 71-49: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Sterling boys' basketball team and coaches for their hard-earned championship victory and successful season; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 19 enrolled copies of this resolution to Sterling High School.

Senate Resolution No. 1846 was sponsored by Senator Jay Scott Emler.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.