SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1818

A Resolution congratulating and commending the Pittsburg State University football team for winning the 2011 NCAA Division II National Championship.

WHEREAS, The Pittsburg State University Gorillas football team defeated Wayne State University Warriors by a score of 35-21 to win the 2011 NCAA Division II Football National Championship in Florence, Alabama on December 17, 2011; and

WHEREAS, Pittsburg State University finished the 2011 season with a 13-1 record and won the MIAA Conference Championship; and

WHEREAS, Pittsburg State University had 12 players earn All-MIAA honors in 2011. Pittsburg State University also had 15 players earn All-Super Region Four honors and nine players captured NCAA Division II All-America recognition. Sophomore linebacker Nate Dreiling was named the Division II Defensive Player of the Year by Don Hansen and senior quarterback Zac Dickey was chosen to play in the Casino Del Sol College All-Star Game; and

WHEREAS, Four Pittsburg State Gorillas earned national or district academic honors, including one Capital One Academic All-American selection and one winner of the NCAA Elite 89 Award; and

WHEREAS, The Pittsburg State University football program has produced 17 Academic All-Americans since 2000, the highest total among all Division II football programs over that period; and

WHEREAS, The 110-student team posted a cumulative 3.0 grade point average during the fall 2011 semester. During the fall 2011 semester, seven football players achieved a perfect 4.0 GPA and 17 others earned Dean's Scholastic Honors; and

WHEREAS, Pittsburg State University football team earned the MIAA Community Engagement Award of Excellence for their program's many civic and charitable activities, including the creation of Coach Tim Beck's "Ladies Night at the Pitt" fundraiser, which benefits the Via Christi Cancer Center and Angels Among Us. The football team also took part in the relief efforts for the victims of the May 22, 2011, Joplin tornado; and

WHEREAS, Pittsburg State University has the most all-time wins of any football program in NCAA Division II; and

WHEREAS, The 2011 National Championship is the fourth football national championship in the history of Pittsburg State University: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Pittsburg State University Gorillas for winning the 2011 NCAA Division II National Championship. We also commend PSU for its history of outstanding athletic and academic achievements and wish all the coaches, staff and players continued success in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Marshall.

Senate Resolution No. 1818 was sponsored by Senator Bob Marshall. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.