SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1815

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2011 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Thirteen of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 23; and

WHEREAS, The 2011 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Deena Amont, Lawrence High School, Lawrence USD 497; Lindsey Colling, Olathe East Sr. High School, Olathe USD 233; Amy Compton, Jefferson Elementary School, Independence USD 446; Karla Fickes, Clay Center Community Middle School, Clay Center USD 379; Lisa Frahm, Manchester Park Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Lori Hamilton, Burlington High School, Burlington USD 244; Mary Ann James, Aubry Bend Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Jean Johnson, Fort Riley Middle School, Geary County USD 475; Kimberly Kime, Mission Trail Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Elizabeth McKnight, Oak Hill Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; DeAnn Nelson, Truesdell Middle School, Wichita USD 259; Raj Narayan Sharma, Wichita South High School, Wichita USD 259; Dena Steen, Washington Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments, teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to teach their subjects to students most effectively and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernmental organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 13 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored plus a copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1815 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.