## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1807

A Resolution congratulating and commending the Western Plains High School journalism team on winning the 2011 Class 1A Kansas Scholastic Press Association state competition.

WHEREAS, On May 7, 2011, the annual Kansas Scholastic Press Association state journalism write-off and carry-in contest was held on the University of Kansas campus in Lawrence; and

WHEREAS, Five students from Western Plains High School competed in the competition, including: Beth Lutters, Dakota Foos, Bryanda Martinez, Kate Hagans and Ashley Stull. The students were guided to victory by journalism adviser, Todd Vogts; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Foos took first place in feature writing and Ms. Hagans took second in newspaper design and honorable mention in the editorial cartoon category; and

WHEREAS, In addition to winning the state competition, the Western Plains High School newspaper, *Cat Tracks*, was named the best student newspaper in Class 1A and was awarded the KSPA All-Kansas News Publication plaque; and

WHEREAS, This was the first year for Western Plains High School to have a journalism program and given its tremendous success, the future is bright for not only the journalism program, but its students as well: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Western Plains High School journalism team on winning the 2011 Class 1A Kansas Scholastic Press Association state competition; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Todd Vogts, 100 School Street, Ransom, KS 67572.

Senate Resolution No. 1807 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Trestaent of the Benate.
	Secretary of the Senate.