## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1841

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Ness City High School girls and boys cross country teams for winning the 2010 Class 2A State Cross Country Championships.

WHEREAS, The Ness City High School girls and boys cross country teams won the 2010 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 2A State Cross Country Championships at Wamego. Ness City became only the second school to sweep the 2A cross country titles; and

WHEREAS, The members of the girls championship team are Kendra Pfannenstiel, Madison Wallgren, LaCie Bourne, Jessie Rubottom and Taylor Gabel; and

WHEREAS, The members of the boys championship team are Josh Snodgrass, Austin Gabel, Kyle Schauvliege, Wyatt Beckman and Dallas Winter. The head coach for both teams is Patrick Younger, and the assistant coach is Jeff Zook; and

WHEREAS, State Medalists for the girls team include: Kendra Pfannenstiel - 5th, Taylor Gabel - 7th, LaCie Bourne - 12th and Jessie Rubottom - 14th; and

WHEREAS, State Medalists for the boys team include: Kyle Schauvliege - 5th and Josh Snodgrass - 19th; and

WHEREAS, Josh Snodgrass was named to the Academic All-State Cross Country team by the Kansas Cross Country and Track and Field Coaches Association. To be eligible for this honor, the student-athlete must be a junior or senior, finish in the top 30 at State Cross Country and have an unweighted GPA of 3.75 or higher; and

WHEREAS, The Ness City community is extremely proud of both teams' hard work and impressive effort; and

WHEREAS, Cross country is one of the more grueling high school sports, requiring these outstanding athletes to dedicate countless hours to training: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we congratulate both the Ness City High School girls and boys cross country teams and Coach Younger for winning the 2010 Kansas State High School Activities Association 2A State Cross Country Championships and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Ostmeyer.

Senate Resolution No. 1841 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.