SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1838

A Resolution congratulating the Norton Community High School girls cross country team for winning the 2010 Class 3A State Cross Country Championship.

WHEREAS, The Norton Community High School girls cross country team won the 2010 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3A State Cross Country Championship at the Wamego Country Club in Wamego. Their victory was the school's first ever state cross country championship; and

WHEREAS, The members of the championship team are Kaylen Rossi, Dustyna Sprigg, Abby Bainter, Astrid Moen, Kamilla Jones, Julia Kent, Darcy Bainter, Katelyn Engelbert and Marissa Maddy. The head coach is George Rossi, and he is assisted by Nicole Satran; and

WHEREAS, State Medalists from the team are Astrid Moen - 5th, Katelyn Engelbert - 13th and Julia Kent - 14th; and

WHEREAS, Dustyna Sprigg was named to the Academic All-State Cross Country team by the Kansas Cross Country and Track and Field Coaches Association. To be eligible for this honor, the student-athlete must be a junior or senior, finish in the top 30 at State Cross Country and have an unweighted GPA of 3.75 or higher; and

WHEREAS, Cross country is one of the more grueling high school sports, requiring dedication, determination and many hours of intense training: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Norton Community High School girls cross country team and Coach George Rossi for winning the 2010 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3A State Cross Country Championship and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Ostmeyer.

Senate Resolution No. 1838 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.