SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1825

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Osage City High School girls volleyball team for winning the 2010 Class 3A State Volleyball Title.

WHEREAS, The Osage City High School girls volleyball team won the 2010 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3A State Volleyball Title with a 25-20, 25-23 victory over Atchison County Community High School in the state championship game at the Bicentennial Center in Salina; and

WHEREAS, The Osage City High School girls volleyball team is the first team to win the Class 3A Volleyball Title for the school and the city; and

WHEREAS, The Osage City High School girls volleyball team finished the season with a record of 42-3; and

WHEREAS, The members of the championship team are: Melissa Cox, Kate Garland, Leah Garland, Keely Geisy, Deldra Jones, Taylor Kimball, Kylie Lieber, Lauren Portner, Katelyn Reece, Alex Schwieger, Haley Slimmer, and Carly Spicer. The head coach is Tara Durkin and the assistant coaches are Dennis Fort and Amie Lohmeyer; and

WHEREAS, Not only did the team win the championship, but the Kansas Volleyball Association also announced Carly Spicer as the 2010 Class 3A Player of the Year and a member of the 2010 Class 3A All-State First Team and Taylor Kimball as a member of the 2010 Class 3A All-State Second Team; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Volleyball Association also announced Coach Durkin as the 2010 Class 3A Coach of the Year: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Osage City High School girls volleyball team and Coach Durkin be congratulated for winning the 2010 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3A State Volleyball Title. Their hard work and athleticism are points of pride for their families, school and the community of Osage City. We extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send 16 enrolled copies of this resolution to Osage City High School c/o Tara Durkin, 515 Ellinwood Street, Osage City, Kansas 66523.

Senate Resolution No. 1825 was sponsored by Senator Anthony Hensley.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.