SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1823

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Caney Valley High School debaters.

WHEREAS, Caney Valley High School students Kurt Lockwood and Jessica Wells are the 2011 two-speaker class 3-2-1A state champions in debate, and were the only undefeated team in the tournament; and this team is the second team from Caney Valley High School to win this state title in the school's history; and

WHEREAS, Caney Valley High School students Bruce Williams and Caleb McIntosh placed third in the two-speaker class 3-2-1A debate tournament, and were undefeated until the semifinal round where they lost to the Silver Lake debate team, which was the team Lockwood and Wells beat in the tournament finale; and

WHEREAS, On January 14 and 15, 2011, the Kansas State High School Activities Association held the class 3-2-1A state debate tournament at Overland Park-Blue Valley Northwest High School: and

WHEREAS, For both teams, the coach is Amber Toth and the assistant coach is Tina McCammon; and

WHEREAS, Each debate team member, their families, the coaches, the school administrators and faculty, and every citizen of this proud community who supported and encouraged the teams' successes, should be recognized and acclaimed for this honor: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Kurt Lockwood, Jessica Wells, Bruce Williams and Caleb McIntosh, and their coaches Amber Toth and Tina McCammon; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator King.

Senate Resolution No. 1823 was sponsored by Senators Jeff King and Dwayne Umbarger.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.