SENATE RESOLUTION NO.

By Senator Schodorf

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2010 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Twenty of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 24; and

WHEREAS, The 2010 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Montika Allen, Westwood Elementary School, Geary USD 475; Tiffany Allen, Seltzer Elementary School, Wichita USD 259; Courtney Bowles, Sunrise Point Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Mary Bradshaw, Santa Fe 5/6 Center, Newton USD 373; Julie Daicoff, Santa Fe Trail Jr. High School, Olathe USD 233; Natasha Erb, Indian Trail Jr. High School, Olathe USD 233; Elizabeth Hunt Esco, Olathe North Sr. High School, Olathe USD 233; Mary Livingston, Valley Park Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Darla Loggans, Emerson Open Magnet Elementary School, Wichita USD 259; Summer Lunsway, Dwight D. Eisenhower Middle School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Elisabeth Nelson, Northview Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Kimberlee Osenga, Fort Riley Middle School, Geary USD 475; Rochelle Rey, Pauline South Intermediate School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Lana Ritchie, Emporia High School, Emporia USD 253; William Smithyman, Blue Valley Northwest High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Sherri Spare, Garfield Elementary School, Parsons USD 503; Brenda Stolle, Trailridge Middle School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Rebecca Turnbull, Pittsburg Middle School, Pittsburg USD 250; Richard Wilson, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Marlo Zumbrunn, Chapman Middle School, Chapman USD 473; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments, teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to teach their subjects to students most effectively and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernmental organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored plus a copy to the Commissioner of Education.