By Senator Schodorf

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2011 Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty-two beginning educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, sponsored by Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award Program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, currently in its ninth year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Kansas Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Horizon Award Program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are: Region 1: Gennifer Booth, Morris Hill Elementary School, Geary USD 475; Caley Cole-Robinson, Phillipsburg Middle School, Phillipsburg USD 325; Andrea Dolezal, Hoisington Middle School, Hoisington USD 431; Chelsea Forster, Salina High School South, Salina USD 305; Elissa Hadley, Emporia High School, Emporia USD 253; Stacia Kaylor, Fort Riley Middle School, Geary USD 475; Mariah McDowell, Grace E. Stewart Elementary School, Salina USD 305; Janeal Schmidt, Abilene High School, Abilene USD 435; and

Region 2: Bethany Baldwin, Berryton Elementary School, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Haley Bugni, Lakeside Elementary School, Pittsburg USD 250; Josey Eastes, Tonganoxie Middle School,

Tonganoxie USD 464; Sarah Marolf, Shawnee Heights Middle School, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Kayla Oblinger, Washburn Rural Middle School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Beranda Jo Oetting, Auburn Elementary School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Trent Page, Central Heights High School, Central Heights USD 288; Suzanne Reedy, Louisburg Middle School, Louisburg USD 416; and Region 3: Eric Ammerman, Mill Valley High School, De Soto USD 232; Jennifer Clarkson, Central Jr. High School, Lawrence USD 497; Chris Crawford, Center for Advanced Professional Studies, Blue Valley, USD 229; Mila Little, Pioneer Ridge Middle School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; Brianna Lohrey, Hazel Grove Elementary School, Kansas City USD 500; Laura Robeson, Ray Marsh Elementary School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Kristin Salanski, Timber Creek Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Kathryn Wells, Sunflower Elementary School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; and Region 4: Heidi Albin, Complete High School Maize, Maize USD 266; Christie Boote, Belle Plaine Elementary School, Belle Plain USD 357; Theresa Blunt, Truesdell Middle School, Wichita USD 259; Travis Combs, Newton Alternative High School, Newton USD 373; Andrea Ewert, Maize Central Elementary School, Maize USD 266; Lacy Kitzmann, Halstead Middle School, Halstead USD 440; Emily Noe, Wineteer Elementary School, Derby USD 260; Jordon Regehr, El Dorado High School, El Dorado USD 490: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2011 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 32 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each educator so honored plus one copy for the Commissioner of Education.