Approved: _____

<u>3/09/2011</u> Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE GOVERNMENT EFFICIENCY COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Representative Mike Burgess, Chair, at 3:30 p.m., February 17, 2011 in Room 546-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representative Rocky Fund - Excused Representative Kay Wolf - Excused

Committee staff present:

Julian Efird, Legislative Research Iraida Orr, Legislative Research Katherine McBride, Revisor of Statutes Renae Jefferies, Revisor of Statutes Linda Herrick, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

Jane Carter, Executive Director, Kansas Organization of State Employees Dennis Taylor, Secretary of Administration

Others attending: (see attached list)

Chair Burgess asked Katherine McBride to give a briefing on <u>HB 2221 - Relating to the employee award</u> **program**. Ms. McBride noted that though the bill presented appeared to strike and add a considerable amount of language, the only major substantive changes were to subsection (g) of section 1, page 2. This change was necessary because the Kansas savings incentives account or fund does not currently exist.

The Chair asked for any proponents of the bill. Jane Carter, Executive Director of the Kansas Organization of State Employees, provided testimony (<u>Attachment 1</u>). Ms. Carter felt an employee incentive program would be very beneficial but asked if some of the ideas in the 2010 SB 294 could be incorporated. Dennis Taylor, Secretary of Administration, was present to answer questions.

Chair Burgess noted this bill will be revisited on Monday after the above referenced Senate Bill's language has been considered.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 21, 2011.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:56 p.m.