Approved:	
	Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE GOVERNMENT EFFICIENCY COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Representative Mike Burgess, Chair, at 3:30 p.m. on January 19, 2011, in Room 546-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except Rep. Rocky Fund.

Committee staff present:
Julian Efird, Legislative Research
Iraida Orr, Legislative Research
Dylan Dear, Research

Katherine McBride, Revisor Renae Jefferies, Revisor

Linda Herrick, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

None

Others attending:

Tom Slaughter, Capitol Strategies

Deb Miller, Secretary Kansas Department of Transportation, stopped by the meeting room. Chair Burgess introduced the Secretary to the members of the committee. She or her staff will be scheduled to address the committee at a later date.

A revision of the Government Efficiency Committee rules was distributed. The revision changed rule number 16. After review, it was moved by Rep. Roth and seconded by Rep. Wolf to approve the revised rules. The committee voted unanimously to approve the committee rules.

A list of topics to be addressed by the committee had been furnished to the members. After a review, the following topics were selected and working groups composed of committee members and staff were formed with discussion beginning after today's committee adjournment.

Sale of State Assets – Leader, Rep. Fund Priority-based Budgeting – Leader, Rep. DeGraaf Performance Measurements – Leader, Rep. Burgess Enterprise Efficiencies for School Districts – Leader, Rep. Jim Howell Rainy Day Fund – Leader, Rep. Roth

The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, January 20, 2011.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.