Approved:	February 25, 2011

## MINUTES OF THE HOUSE ENERGY AND UTILITIES COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Carl Holmes at 9:00 A.M. on January 11, 2011, in Room 785 of the Docking State Office Building.

All members were present except:

Representative Mike Slattery-excused

## Committee staff present:

Cindy Lash, Kansas Legislative Research Corey Carnahan, Kansas Legislative Research Matt Sterling, Kansas Legislative Revisor Mary Torrence, Kansas Legislative Revisor Renae Hansen, Administrative Assistant

## Others attending:

Thirty-Eight including the attached list.

Representative Carl Holmes welcomed the members to the session and the committee.

Matt Sterling, Revisor noted that he is working on a list of committee bills to be introduced next week.

Lobbyists spoke to the committee on the various entities they represent.

Included on the list of individuals who spoke to the committee are:

- Mark Schreiber, Westar Energy
- Scott Jones, KCP&L
- Larry Berg, Midwest Energy
- Colin Hansen, KMU
- Joe Dick, BPU
- Dave Holthaus, KEC
- Claire Gustin, Sunflower
- Phil Wages, KEPCo
- Kimberly Svaty, KMU, Wind Coalition, ITC Great Plains
- Kimberly Winn, League of Kansas Municipalities
- Karen Wagaman, Kansas Association of Counties
- Ron Hein, NCRA

Questions were asked and comments made by Representatives: Tom Sloan, and Don Hineman.

Chairman Holmes had committee members introduce themselves.

The next meeting is scheduled for January 12, 2011.

The meeting was adjourned at 10: 45 A.M.