MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Colloton at 9:00 a.m. on January 18, 2011, in Room 784 of the Docking State Office Building.

All members were present except:

Representative Clay Aurand, Excused Representative Steve Huebert, Excused

Committee staff present:

Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Reagan Cussimanio, Kansas Legislative Research Department Eunice C. Peters, Kansas Revisor of Statutes Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas State Department of Education Jan Johnston, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

2011 Kansas Teacher of the Year:

Curtis Chandler, Wamego Middle School, Wamego, KS

2011 Kansas Regional Teachers of the Year:

Nikki Chamberlain, Salina South High School, Salina, KS Kim Morrissey, Dodge Literacy Magnet Elementary School, Wichita, KS Holly Schreiber, Belmont Elementary School, Shawnee, KS C. Dow Tate, Shawnee Mission East High School, Shawnee Mission, KS Jodi Testa, Lincoln Elementary School, Junction City, KS Lu Anne Vides, El Dorado Middle School, El Dorado, KS Linda Wiersman, Sunflower Elementary School, Paola, KS

Chairperson Colloton asked the Committee if there was anyone wanting to introduce a Bill. Chairperson Colloton also informed the Committee that we would be hearing **HB 2004** on January 19, 2011, regarding Transportation.

2011 KANSAS TEACHER OF THE YEAR TEAM

Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas State Department of Education, introduced the members of the 2011 Kansas Teacher of the Year Team to Committee members. (Attachment 1) He asked that each teacher speak about two minutes regarding their passions and concerns of teaching.

A question and answer session followed the presentation.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:00 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for January 19, 2011.