Tiffany Gillespie, President Trego County 216 North Main Wakeeney, KS 67672 785-743-2148



Cecil Aska, President-Elect Geary County 138 East 8<sup>th</sup> Street Junction City, KS 66441 785-762-5221 x 1435

Senate Bill 367 Jury Pool Expansion

House Judiciary Thursday, March 8, 2012

Testimony
By: Koleen Nosekabel, Clerk of the District Court
Seward County District Court
26<sup>th</sup> Judicial District

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today on behalf of the Kansas Association of District Court Clerks and Administrators regarding Senate Bill 367.

We would like to expand the jury pool to include state income tax filers. This information is updated yearly. This additional source would provide more accurate address information than the Department of Motor Vehicles whose information is only updated every six years.

K.S.A. 43-162 current law states jury lists shall be prepared from voter registration records of the county, lists of licensed drivers residing in the county or enumeration or census records for the county. Lists of holders of state-issued non drivers' identification cards who reside in the county may also be used.

One of the major hurdles in summonsing a jury is the amount of jury questionnaires returned as non-deliverable because of insufficient address or the person has moved. This is at an overwhelming cost to each county and the state in postage, supplies and labor. Returns due to bad addresses are estimated at 30-50% statewide.

Information that would be disclosed by Kansas Department of Revenue and used for this purpose includes name, last known address, and residency status. Other states allowing access to this information include Indiana, Connecticut, New York, and the District of Columbia.

The Senate recommended passage of this bill on a vote of 38 to 2. We urge the committee's favorable recommendation of this bill. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Teresa Lueth, Secretary Saline County 300 W. Ash, PO Box 1760 Salina, KS 67402-1760 785-309-5831 Mary Gatton, Treasurer Barton County 1400 Maín, Room 306 Great Bend, KS 67530-4098 620-793-1856 Kathleen Collins, Past President Wyandotte County 710 N 7<sup>th</sup> St., Mezzanine Kansas City, KS 66101 913-573-2946