HOUSE BILL No. 2078

By Joint Committee on Information Technology

1-18

AN ACT concerning information technology; relating to the information technology executive council; providing for membership requirements, terms of members and quorum requirements; amending K.S.A. 75-7202 and repealing the existing section.

5

7

8

9 10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21 22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 75-7202 is hereby amended to read as follows: 75-7202. (a) There is hereby established the information technology executive council which shall be attached to the office of information technology services for purposes of administrative functions.

- (b) (1) The council shall be composed of 17 voting members as follows:
 - (A) Two cabinet agency heads or such persons' designees;
 - (B) two noncabinet agency heads or such persons' designees;
 - (C) the executive chief information technology officer;
 - (D) the legislative chief information technology officer;
 - (E) the judicial chief information technology officer;
- (F) the chief executive officer of the state board of regents or such person's designee;
 - (G) one representative of cities;
- (H) one representative of counties; the network manager of the information network of Kansas (INK);
- (I) one representative with background and knowledge in technology and cybersecurity from the private sector,—however, except that such representative or such representative's employer shall not be an information technology or cybersecurity vendor that does business with the state of Kansas;
- (J) one representative appointed by the Kansas criminal justice information system committee;
- (K) one member of the senate ways and means committee appointed by the president of the senate or such member's designee;
- (L) one member of the senate ways and means committee appointed by the minority leader of the senate or such member's designee;
 - (M) one member of the house—government, technology and security committee or its successor committee of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives or such member's designee; and

HB 2078 2

(N) one member of the house government, technology and security committee or its successor committee of representatives appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives or such member's designee.

- (2) The chief information technology architect shall be a nonvoting member of the council.
- (3) The cabinet agency heads, the noncabinet agency heads, the representative of cities, the representative of counties and the representative from the private sector shall be appointed by the governor for a term not to exceed 18 months. Upon expiration of an appointed member's term, the member shall continue to hold office until the appointment of a successor. Legislative members shall remain members of the legislature in order to retain membership on the council and shall serve until replaced pursuant to this section. Vacancies of members during a term shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment only for the unexpired part of the term. The appointing authority for a member may remove the member, reappoint the member or substitute another appointee for the member at any time. Nonappointed members shall serve ex officio.
- (c) The chairperson of the council shall be drawn from the chief information technology officers, with each chief information technology officer serving a one-year term. The term of chairperson shall rotate among the chief information technology officers on an annual basis.
- (d) The council shall hold quarterly meetings and hearings in the city of Topeka or at such other places as the council designates, on call of the executive chief information technology officer or on request of four or more members. A quorum of the council shall be nine. All actions of the council shall be taken by a majority of all of the members of the council.
- (e) Except for members specified as a designee in subsection (b), members of the council may not appoint an individual to represent them on the council and only members of the council may vote.
- (f) Members of the council shall receive mileage, tolls and parking as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto, for attendance at any meeting of the council or any subcommittee meeting authorized by the council.
 - Sec. 2. K.S.A. 75-7202 is hereby repealed.
- Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the statute book.